And so it begins

This is not my first attempt at a blog. Since blogger and blogspot first came on the scene I attempted the idea of a blog. At the time my ideas and motivation to post always fizzled because I frankly felt that I had little to contribute to the interwebs. But, maybe,  just maybe, this has changed over the past decades.

I have searched for a meaning to my life for many years, and started down the skeptics path in earnest only a few years ago. It wasn’t until the early 2000s that I began to associate my way of thinking with that of the atheist or agnostic. Bishop Sponge’s book “Saving the Bible from the Fundamentalists” gave me permission to be honest with myself. For the first time, I felt that I was not alone. However, it also further helped to question not only the bible, but the existence of any god. Richard Dawkin’s book “The God Delusion” was the final straw. His discussion on the “God of the Gaps” completed my apostasy.

This journey began as a culturally, religious christian. Yes, I did user lower case letters, as the term alone offends me. My apostasy began when I was thrust into the cult of evangelical religion in the southern United States. After moving here from Germany after graduating from High School, I experienced the horrors of this version of christianity. To be honest, what is preached from these pulpits, coupled with the staggering cognitive dissonance, vitriol, and blatant hatred for the “other” made me recoil. This version of the christian religion caused me to despise every aspect of biblical teachings. The church perverted, or so I thought at the time, the purity of Jesus’s teaching, namely to love each other. However, the truth goes so much deeper.

So, this is where I begin my dialectic (discussion) of my continued journey of learning more about philosophy and actually reading the entire bible for the first time in my life.

Leave a Reply

